Prosperity for All
A Town to grow, work, play & prosper in

New Leadership for the Greater Oudtshoorn Council

(FLRT): Cllr. Julia le Roux-Krowitz (Speaker), Cllr. Chris Macpherson (Executive Mayor) and Cllr. Gavin Juthe (Deputy Executive Mayor)

Oudtshoorn, 05 August 2020 – Councillor Chris MacPherson of the Democratic Alliance (DA) has been elected as the new executive mayor of the Greater Oudtshoorn in a virtual Council meeting held on Tuesday, 4 August 2020.

The mayoral position became vacant after the former executive mayor of the Greater Oudtshoorn, Colan Sylvester, resigned from office in the Oudtshoorn Municipal Council in June 2020. Cllr. MacPherson was subsequently declared by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) as a new councillor for the DA in the Oudtshoorn Council with effect from 3 July 2020.

In the same meeting yesterday, Cllr Gavin Juthe of the South African Religious Civic Organisation (SARCO) was elected as the town’s new deputy executive mayor and was also tasked with the responsibility to oversee the Strategic Services Department. He replaces Cllr. Noluthando Mwati who tendered her resignation as a deputy executive mayor during the Council meeting yesterday.

On Wednesday morning (5 August 2020), Mayor Macpherson announced his Executive Mayoral Committee (MAYCO) in a media briefing held at the Oudtshoorn Council Chambers. The members of the MAYCO are as follows:

  • Chairperson for Finance: Cllr. George Kersop (DA)
  • Chairperson for the Corporate Services: Barbara Owen of the Independent Civics Organisation of South Africa (ICOSA)
  • Chairperson for the Community Services: Cllr. Johan Fourie
  • Chairperson for the Technical Services: Cllr. Vlancio Donson (ICOSA)
  • Chairperson for the Human Settlements: Cllr. Noluthando Mwati (DA)

The Municipal Public Accounts Committee (MPAC), a Section 79 committee, will be chaired by Cllr. Diswayne Maarman of the Economic Freedom Front (EFF). Cllr. Julia le Roux-Krowitz remains the speaker of the Council.

“A multi-party cooperative agreement for the governance of the Greater Oudtshoorn, has been achieved,” said Mayor Macpherson. “I take my hat off to all political parties that have decided to work together to take the town forward.”

The new leadership also intends to stabilize the administration in Oudtshoorn Municipality, by appointing an acting municipal manager, chief financial officer and senior legal manager. “We will approach the Provincial Government to assist us with secondments to the various departments mentioned above,” Mayor Macpherson concluded.

(FLTR):  Cllr. George Kersop (Chairperson Finance), Cllr. Johan Fourie (Chairperson Community Services), Cllr. Noluthando Mwati (Chairperson Human Settlements), Cllr. Chris Macpherson (Executive Mayor), Cllr. Gavin Juthe (Deputy Executive Mayor and Cllr. Vlancio Donson (Chairperson Technical Services)