Prosperity for All
A Town to grow, work, play & prosper in

New Council Members Take Oath

Front: (Left to Right): Acting Municipal Manager: Reginald Smit, Speaker: Julie Le Roux-Krowitz, and Executive Mayor: Chris Macpherson. Back (Left to Right): Fielies September (DA), Booi Berry (ANC), and Naomi Jonkers (ANC).

Oudtshoorn, 13 October 2020 – The Greater Oudtshoorn Municipality’s council inaugurated the newly elected councillors on Friday, 22 January 2021, after the bi-elections in December 2020.

The new councillors; Fielies September (DA), Booi Berry (ANC) and Naomi Jonkers (ANC), were welcomed by the executive mayor, cllr Chris Macpherson, as well as other councillors representing different parties in the council.

The acting municipal manager, Reginald Smit, warned the new councillors not to underestimate the importance of being a councillor. He welcomed them into council and also mentioned that being a part of the council; they now represented the government and not just a political party. “Just as you love your community, you must serve them. Just as much as you serve them, you must tell them when they do wrong. Do not fail those who have chosen you, as well as those who were against you,” said Smit.

The executive mayor, cllr. Chris Macpherson, mentioned that the moment the new councillors took the oath, they became image bearers of the Municipality. Referring to the newly elected councillors, Macpherson said, “the moment you are appointed by the Independent Electoral Commission, you represent the interests of all the people in your respective wards.”

Councillors Hendrik Botha (DA), Jongilizwe TyaTya (ANC), Barbara Owen (Icosa) and Diswayne Maarman (EFF) were some of the councillors present at the inauguration who also welcomed them and wished them well in their positions.

Councillor Julia Krowitz-Le Roux, Speaker, closed the proceedings by welcoming the new councillors and also mentioning that they had to work very hard. The appointment of these councillors follows the by-election that took place in December 2020 to fill the vacancies of three councillors who resigned last year.