Prosperity for All
A Town to grow, work, play & prosper in

Mayoral’s Sports Awards 2023 Finalists Announced

Oudtshoorn, 28 November 2023 – The Greater Oudtshoorn municipality is pleased to announce the Mayoral’s Sports Awards 2023, scheduled for Tuesday, 05 December 2023. This event will be held at the Banquet Hall of Oudtshoorn Municipality, where the Executive Mayor of the Greater Oudtshoorn, Alderman Chris Macpherson,  will honour outstanding athletes, coaches, and contributors who have significantly impacted the local sports community.


The finalists in the respective categories have been identified and are as follows:

Honorary Roll:

  • Late Franco Coerecius
  • Late Clement Rex
  • Late Sydwell Muller


  • Klaas Pypers

Primary School Sports Team:

  • Westbank Primary School U13A Rugby Team
  • Van Reede Primary School Majorettes
  • Laurus Primary School U13 Cricket Team

Primary School Coach:

  • Pieter van der Walt (Westbank Primary School)
  • Ronald Presher (Van Reede Primary School)
  • SW. Vorster (Laurus Primary School)

Primary School Sportswoman:

  • Dané van der Westhuizen (Westbank Primary School)
  • Nikita Stander (Laurus Primary School)

Primary School Sportsman:

  • Waquemo Sampson (Colridge Primary)
  • Fourie Delport (Westbank Primary School)
  • Cameron Botha (Laurus Primary School)

High School Sports Team:

  • Langenhoven Gymnasium U18 Netball Team
  • Tug-of-War Team (440kg) – Oudtshoorn School of Skills

School Sports Administrator:

  • Meghan Presher (Van Reede Majorettes)
  • Damon Gysman (De Villiers Primary)
  • Martin Davids (Saturnus Primary)

High School Coach:

  • Walt Böhme (Oudtshoorn High School)

High School Sportswoman:

  • Kelsey Stuurman (Bridgton Secondary)
  • Chanien Hifke (Oudtshoorn High School)
  • Emma van der Westhuizen (Langenhoven Gymnasium)
  • Maryke Witbooi (Oudtshoorn Skills School)

High School Sportsman:

  • Logan Jantjies (Oudtshoorn High School)
  • Ewald de Jager (Langenhoven Gymnasium)
  • Thurstin Murphy (Bridgton Secondary)

Junior Sportswoman:

  • Sarah-Jane Lewis (Jikai Do Karate)
  • Sue-Alice Gysman (Bridgton Secondary)

Junior Sportsman:

  • Divan Rademeyer (Grebe Kickboxing Club)
  • Geo Bruintjies (Jikai Do Karate)
  • Sergio Arries (Oudtshoorn Golf Club)

Sportsperson with a disability:

  • Allanzo Mapoe

Senior Sports Team:

  • All Blacks RVK
  • Kavaliers RVK
  • Harlequins RVK
  • Union Stars Cricket Club

Senior Coach:

  • Lo-Anne Oosthuizen (Okinawa Goju Ryu Karate)
  • Ranger Grebe (Grebe Kickboxing)
  • Angelo Booysen (Harlequins RVK)

Senior Sports Administrator:

  • Sonja Schultz (Oudtshoorn Cycling)

Senior Sportswoman:

  • Charlissa Schultz (Oudtshoorn Cycling)
  • Sheree Samson (Jikai Do Karate)
  • Chaunique Bruce (Grebe Kickboxing Club)
  • Haroline Rhodes (Union Stars Cricket Club)

Senior Sportsman:

  • Mike Lombard (Oudtshoorn Cycling)
  • Jaco Saayman (Okinawa Goju Ryu Karate)
  • Ruphino Plaatjies (Harlequins RVK)
  • Ben Greeff (Grebe Kickboxing Club)

The event promises to be a celebration of outstanding achievements in sports, honouring the dedication and talent demonstrated by individuals and teams within the community. We look forward to a memorable evening of recognition and camaraderie.