Prosperity for All
A Town to grow, work, play & prosper in

Local sport stars to be honoured in the Greater Oudtshoorn Mayoral Sport Awards 2016

Oudtshoorn, 15 November 2016 – The Executive Mayor of the Greater Oudtshoorn Cllr. Colan Sylvester will on 24 November honour the town’s sports men and women in the Greater Oudtshoorn Mayoral Sport Awards to be held at the Municipal Banquet Hall at 18:30 for 19:00.

“The sports awards are a platform to express our appreciation and to encourage individuals and sports teams that have displayed excellent performances in the sporting fraternity,” said Cllr. Sylvester.

“Sport has for many decades proved to have played a central role as a unifier of our diverse communities all over the World, a tool for youth development and of course key to promoting a healthy living lifestyle, hence the significance to recognize role-players.” 

This annual event is hosted by the Oudtshoorn Municipality in conjunction with the Oudtshoorn Sport Council and the Western Cape Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport. The following categories and nominees have been identified to honour sports stars from school level up to senior level for achievements on and off the sports field for 2016.

In Afrikaans:

EREROL: Johan Ignatius van Rooyen


SPORTVROU MET GESTREMDHEID: Vicky D. Scheepers, Candice Witbooi, Izine Hufke

SPORTMAN MET GESTREMDHEID: Gerrit Hendriks, Ronaldo Jansen, Phillo Verlaat

LAERSKOLE SPORTVROU: Keysha Kortje, Morisha Carelse, Kayla Steyn, Laraschelle Vyver

LAERSKOLE SPORTMAN: Antonio Bruiners, Morne Els, Javian Jahson Murphy, Liam Hooper


LAERSKOLE SPORTSPAN: Van Reede Drum Majorettes, Sacred Heart Drum Majorettes

HOëRSKOLE SPORTVROU: Annique Wolmarans, Miceala Andrews,

HOëRSKOLE SPORTMAN: Johan Muller, Xhantilomzi Nokoyo

HOëRSKOLE SPORTSPAN: Oudtshoorn Hoërskool rugby 0/19A, Langenhoven Gimnasium, 1ste krieket span 0/19

HOëRSKOLE AFRIGTER: Ansley Stix Theunissen, Stefan Joubert

JUNIOR SPORTVROU: Lynique Blaauw, Charne Byleveld

JUNIOR SPORTMAN: Duwayne Gertze, Jaco Saayman, Louis Visser


SENIOR AFRIGTER: Lionel Prinsloo, Ranger Grebe, Lo- anne Oosthuizen

SENIOR SPORTVROU: Aletta (Toy) Ungerer, Christine van Collar, Anel van Wyk, Jessica Gerber

SENIOR SPORTMAN: Mike Lombaard, Karl Freeks, Etiene Plaatjies, Dawid Blom